Vermont trailer laws and regulations are important to know for anyone who plans on driving a trailer in the state. There are specific requirements that must be met in order to operate a trailer safely, and violating these laws can result in fines or other penalties. In this article, we will outline the basics of Vermont's trailer laws and regulations, so that you can stay safe while driving your rig.
A person cannot operate a motor vehicle or draw a trailer on any highway unless it is registered. For trailers weighing 1,500 lbs or less when loaded, the registration fee is $27. For trailers weighing 1,501 lbs or more when loaded, the registration fee is $52. That is because Vermont has a weight-based registration system. Additionally, any trailer that is used on public highways must be titled and registered before use.
Note that in Vermont, they don't produce titles for vehicles 15 years old or older. Instead, the registration you get for an older vehicle works like a title would in Vermont.
How do you register a trailer in Vermont? After filling out a VD-119 application for registration, tax, and title from the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles, including all required documentation as well as appropriate fees to submit the completed form.
On every trailer coach, there must be at least 1 fire extinguisher that is of a type approved by the state fire marshal, and it should be in good working condition and easily within reach.
You cannot occupy a trailer while it is being moved on a public highway. You can only tow one boat or general utility trailer behind a passenger or pleasure vehicle.
Length: 75 feet; trailer length not stated; width: 102 inches ( allows for wider width if due to an addition); height: 13 feet 6 inches.
Trailers that weigh 3,000 lbs. or less do not need brakes as long as the total weight of the trailer's wheels does not exceed 40% of the gross towing vehicle weight when connected to the trailer.
Any trailer, semitrailer, or trailer coach that weighs more than 3,000 pounds but less than 6,000 pounds must have brakes on at least one axle. The driver should be able to apply these brakes from the cab of the towing vehicle. If the towed vehicle breaks away accidentally, the brakes will automatically engage and stay engaged for at least 15 minutes.
All trailers, semitrailers, or trailer coaches weighing 6,000 lbs. or more operating on state highways must have brakes that are adequate to control and stop the vehicle and designed to be applied by the driver of the tow motor vehicle from its cab. In case of an accidental breakaway of the towed vehicle, the brakes shall automatically apply and remain applied for at least 15 minutes.
All vehicles, trailers, semitrailers, pole trailers, and any other devices towed at the end of a combination of vehicles must be equipped with two rear taillights (unless the vehicle is only equipped with one).
A motor vehicle towing a trailer coach must be secured by a safety chain at all times while on any highway. The hitch and coupling must be adequate enough to ensure public safety.
Every car needs taillights, and at least one brake light is required if your vehicle has two. Additionally, a license plate light is needed, and turn signals are mandatory on any trailer coach manufactured after 1955. Finally, all cars need reflectors.
The same rules that apply to passenger cars also apply to trucks.
The towing capacity of a truck or SUV refers to the maximum weight it can pull safely and legally. Pulling a trailer, vehicle, or caravan with a higher weight limit can cause strain to your vehicle&rs...
Towing a four-wheel-drive vehicle isn’t always as straight forward as towing a front- or rear-wheel drive. For the latter, the rear or front wheels can be left spinning on the ground while one s...
All-wheel-drive (AWD) vehicles are great on wet and icy roads. The traction they provide cannot be compared to front-wheel or rear-wheel drives. However, they pose a great challenge when you need to t...