Michigan Trailer Laws & Regulations

In Michigan, there are specific laws and regulations that apply to trailers. These regulations are in place to ensure the safety of everyone on the road, including drivers and passengers in other vehicles, as well as people who are walking or biking.

If you are planning to tow a trailer in Michigan, it is important that you familiarize yourself with these laws and regulations. Failing to do so could result in fines or even imprisonment.

Do All Trailers Need A License Plate In Michigan?

All trailers and trailer coaches must be registered for use on public roads, regardless of whether they are manufactured or assembled. These vehicles will be issued a registration and permanent license plate that doesn't expire, which cannot be transferred to another vehicle.

Trailers, such as pop-up campers and travel trailers, must be registered with a permanent license plate. The registration fee is based on the trailer's empty weight. Trailer coaches and pickup campers must also be titled. In addition, any trailer weighing 2,500 pounds or more needs to be titled.

What is required to register a trailer in Michigan? You can go to any MI SOS office to finish your title applications (if required) and register your recreational vehicle or trailer. A certificate of title is not necessary for a trailer that weighs less than 2,500 pounds but registration is still needed.

Michigan Trailer Laws & Regulations

Dimensions

The total length is 65 feet, the trailer length is 45 feet, and the width is 102 inches. The outside width may exceed 102 inches due to appurtenance. The height of this object is 13 feet 6 inches.

Brakes

A gross weight of 3,000 pounds or more necessitates an independent braking system.

Hitch and Signals

The hitch connecting the two vehicles cannot exceed 15 feet and must not allow either vehicle to deviate more than 3 inches from the other. If the connection consists of a chain, rope, or cable, there shall be a red flag or other signal displayed upon the connection that is not less than 12 inches both in length and width.

All trailers must be equipped with at least 1 rear lamp that emits a red light plainly visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear.

The rear registration plate must be illuminated with white light and visible from a distance of 50 feet to the rear.

You will need 2 clearance lamps on the front, 1 at each side; 2 side marker lamps on each side, 1 at or near the front and 1 at or near the rear; 2 reflectors on each side, 1 at or near the front and 1 at or near‚Äčthe rear; and finally, 2 clearance lamps and 2 reflectors on the rear, both located one lamp/reflector per side with an additional stop light in between them.

Mirrors

An individual driving a passenger vehicle pulling another vehicle or trailer shall not exceed the posted speed limit.

Lighting

Required.

Speed Limits

Drivers of passenger vehicles are not allowed to exceed the posted speed limit when pulling another vehicle or trailer.

Interesting articles